top of page
Writer's pictureChloe King

Robot Invasion - Post Production: Maya Robot

May 29, 2018


The robot in the footage was made in Maya. We could make anyone we wanted but we had to be able to move it around. I went for a simple design that I know I could rig easily.



I added textures to the eye but when I imported it into the animation scene it disappeared (not that you can see it anyway in the footage.) I made it so the bottom could roll and the head could follow on top and I can roll them in round the corner. of the building. I would like to have made a more detailed robot but I also wanted one that was easy to move and would look good. I also should have added more edges to both the head and body so you cant see the edges and it would look more smooth.



Here is the rig for the robot, both parts are attached to the circle so I can move them both at the same time but I can rotate them separately. 


In the scene with the image in Maya I had to set up a cube where the building would be and put the robot behind it. I also imported the shot as an image plan so I could time when the robot would come in.


I added lighting but that proved pointless and didn't make a difference so I rendered it out as a PNG sequence to put into Nuke where it would convert it as a video. I brightened up the robot in Nuke later on.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page