top of page
Writer's pictureChloe King

Synoptic Project - Drone

Updated: Jun 5, 2019


The second model I had to make for the project is a drone. My team mate did make one whilst I was doing the arm as a prototype that I then tried to edit but I ultimately made anew one from scratch.



I did draw the sketch of the altered drone and I did end up modelling it. However, I really didn't like how it was turning out, I thought the old drone was too simple and basic, even though it was going in the background of a shot I still wanted it to be as detailed and complex as possible and I certainly wasn't going to get that from this drone.


Thankfully, one night I just had a breakthrough when looking at drones online. I wanted the drone to have a big eye in the middle where the light comes from so I started with that first and worked from there.



Making the drone was actually easy, the center piece was just extruded in from a sphere and I added in bumps and patterns where I could. The front reminds me of a submarine or a wheel, not what I was going for but it still looks cool. The wings were kept the same as I did like them and I wanted to keep all of the focus on the main body. Once I had created the middle I had some creative issues with what to add everywhere else. My usual strategy when I don't know what to add is find a place to extrude and do that then put a different texture in that area and pray for the best. I used the curve tool for the wires and then got a circle and then extruded to get the curve going around the drone, I made the wires red so there is some difference in color and everything's not just black and purple.


I kept the textures similar to the arm I had done for anther shot. Except with this model I made it more black than purple, I did debate between the main color either being black or white but my team all agreed on black. I did have some trouble trying to contrast the different sections, I didn't want the same black and purple so I tried to differentiate between the shades but still keeping with the theme.


I am alot happier with how I have improved the drone but If I could go back now I would add in more edges to make the sphere rounder, but for now we'll call it an artistic choice. Adding on, I still think there could be more added at the back of the drone, I know I wanted to keep the heavy detailing at the front but the back feels a bit barren to me.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page