top of page
Writer's pictureChloe King

Alien Head

October 08, 2018


For our first time using Mudbox we had to make an alien using a cube we exported over from Maya, we turned the mirror on to the x axis so our movements could be mirrored evenly. We used the grab tool to move around the cube into any shape we wanted.


By adding in subdivisions it can change the shape and give you more vertices to grab onto and move around, the more you add the smoother the shape and better you can mold it to the desired image.


After adding in a level 2 subdivision it gave me a diamond shape, I decided to go for an alien with a big forehead that slims down towards the chin. The most important thing we had to do was keep it symmetrical so it was best to keep to the lower level divisions at first for the basic shape.

On the level 3 division I started to carve out more facial features and give the shape of the face more definition, my goal was to make it as weird and alien like as possible. I also began to widen the top of the head and give it bumps and then define the jaw line into an unnatural shape. 

By level 4 I began to make eye sockets and bulged the top of the head, I also made a mouth area and defined the nose more.


By level 5 not much happened, I made a few small changes to the horn like things on its head and deepened the eyes and mouth. I brought his jaw in more as well.


Level 6 was when I began to use stencils and giving it texture, I added on a lumpy texture to the bump in the centre of his head to make it look like a alien brain, I also began to give the "skin" some texture.


In level 7 I brought the textures through more, for the main part of the face I choose a scale like texture and for the horns I found what looked like a tree trunk texture and used that. I then moved onto painting it, I stuck with the green shades as I thought that suited it best.


I tried to use different greens indifferent areas so that it wasn't all one colour. For the horned area I used a brown colour so it looks like skin being broken through. I knew this wasn't going to look pretty so I focused more on the range of colours rather than what looks appealing, I did try out different colours and shades but in the end none of them made it look "nice" so I stuck with the green.


This was also uploaded to my Sketchfab. Where you can view the model in a 360 view in HD,


https://sketchfab.com/models/dbe4d83b90074879b14d0b6f9e80fcf7

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page