top of page
Writer's pictureChloe King

Assignment 6 - Jetpack

Updated: Mar 19, 2019

November 30, 2017


For this weeks assignment we were given the task to make a Jet-pack. However, I'm not a big fan of sci-fi so I decided to put a twist on my Jet pack, I made it Steam Punk. I choose this because of the opportunities I have with making it. With last weeks fail of a tower I wanted to step it up and put as much detail in as possible.

After looking through some Jet packs online I decided to take some elements i like to add it to my own.

I spent over 12 hours working on it before I was finally satisfied, the things i found i struggled with the most was making the pipes. I used a CP curve to build the pipes and the extruded version which came out wasn't similar to the curve I had placed. This also meant the textures and bump mapping don't work the way you want to either, although I am quite happy with how they turned out.


I am very happy with how the smaller details turned out, i had an idea to get a flat surface, cut around the image onto the surface and then extrude the faces to make the pattern. I also wanted the metals to be different to add realism so spent alot of time searching for decent textures.


Overall I think this my best work so far and am glad I stepped it up from the tower, this is the only challenge where I wouldn't change anything except blocking off the bottom of the gas pump so you cant see where the tubes poke out.


Edit: I did upload this model to Sketchfab where the lighting is much better and its fully rendered.




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page