top of page
Writer's pictureChloe King

Final Assignment - Exploratory Vehicle

Updated: Mar 23, 2019

January 13, 2018


For our final assignment  we were given the task to make an exploratory vehicle in Maya. Following my theme of my previous work the Jet pack, I wanted to stick to the steam-punk theme.



Due to its size there is a glitch with the sails where from certain angles there are spots of black. Overall this is the work I am most proud of. Although I had to put the textures on 7 times in order for it to final save properly I am still happy. Looking back now in 2019 I realised I never named the textures I added so every time they dissapeared I would just add a new texture so there's over 50 textures in this scene currently, not my smartest moments whilst making this.





I wanted to add as much detail as possible in areas in order for it to not look bland due to the sails being bare. I got the patterns from Google and used the cutting tool to add the edges and them extruded where necessary.


I wanted to use gold accents but I needed them to all be different as for it to not be boring, I liked the gold textures I used for my Jet-pack so I reused them here.



I am also happy with my chosen textures, I wanted to try and bump map as much as possible as I haven't used it much in the past, I only bump mapped the sails, wood and rope as the gold didn't look right. The hardest part was finding the right texture for the ropes, I spent an hour trying to find one that wasn't too small or the quality wasn't up to standard. 





1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page