top of page
Writer's pictureChloe King

Synoptic Project - Drone Compositing

Another set of models I had to composite was the two drones and tower that were to be put in during Brandon running across a field with the drones chasing him and a tower in the background. In the original storyboard there was actually going to be an air-plane in the background that I was going to make, that was too ambitious for our time limit so we ended up scrapping it.


Unlike the scanner, the drone did not need a shadow due to the gloomy weather happening that day (-5 degrees) so I didn't have to worry about that extra edition. I went straight over to nuke to do some rotoscoping on Brandon again when he runs past the tower. Additionally, I rotoscoped the two drones towards the end to go behind the bush as if they are still following him around.


The video I used for Brandon running was a PNG sequence so it had no sound, it was also alot slower than the raw video so I had to then bring the rendered video with the tower into Premiere Pro to edited the sound.


I found a drone sound online and used the level tool to turn the sound up and down at certain points. For instance, as the drones get further away behind the bushes the sound slowly quietens until there's nothing. I also found a soundtrack of some wind and outside noises that I put in over the drones since the original sound couldn't be added.


This is the final version the drone scene, my only issue with this is the tower. I did struggle building it as I've never had any luck with making towers it seems but I wish I had used more colours but my thoughts were that in a futuristic set the robots would be minimalistic.

5 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page