top of page
Writer's pictureChloe King

Synoptic Project - Robot Arm Compositing Part 1

The last bit of compositing I had to do was the robot arm. Much like with the scanner I did have to put a hold on rotoscoping and try to find a way to give the arm a reflection in the table. Seeing as the alarm clock in the back had a reflection I thought it was only right to give the arm one. The biggest issue I face was getting the reflection to move with the arm but not overlap with each other. After alot of trial and error I had the brilliant idea to go back into Maya.


I used my animation I had made in there but cut out the part where the arm puts the cup down so all you would see is the arm moving at the end. This surprisingly worked, I am glad. I essentially did what I had previously done with the scanner shadow expect I didn't add in a fill.


I then put the reflection under the arm and the animations synced up perfectly. For this scene I actually didn't need to rotoscope at all so that was a nice break.


However, I did add in some sounds even though it isn't my job. I wanted some sound effects for when the arm moved so I searched for some online and edited the ones I wanted together in Premiere Pro.


We still do have to record a line saying "Your daily dose of Antimatum is ready for consumption" and put that in as if the arm is saying it. But I wanted to speed along the process.


Overall this went very well but once again I wish I could change the cup and make it more realistic and similar to the cup we used in the other scene.


This is the robot arm putting down the cup.

5 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page