top of page
Writer's pictureChloe King

Synoptic Project - Scanner Panorama

Seeing as my models I made for our project were going to be put into scenes I needed to sort out the lighting for them and reflections so when put into the scene they look somewhat normal.


My teacher showed me how to take a 360 panorama with a camera, we couldn't use a 360 camera due to the different exposures I needed, one of the locations we had to go to was our college mac room to film and take the panorama for the scanner that was later put in the scene.


We put the camera on a tripod and nodal ninja and set the camera to take multiple shots are different exposures. I then had to put them into PTGui a stitching software that would merge them together to create the 360 image I needed.



I first had to upload all of the images and let the software find points to connect and align.


For some images I did have to go back and connect my own points more often than I would have liked.

After I connected the points I ended up with this, as you can see it has the PTGui logo all over it due to having to use a free trial, thankfully you cant see it in the model reflections very well.


I then went over to Maya to try and put it in, I didn't know what I was doing so I had to go to Youtube for help. I already had a skydome over my model for lighting so I added this image as a texture and it came out like this.


When zoomed in on the model in Arnold Renderer you can see the reflection of the room in the scanner and the lighting has changed. I would say putting it into Maya was easy but the computers did not like the panorama at all and kept crashing so It was luck that I managed to render this out.


I am happy with the reflection after the process I went through but next time I would like to smooth out the reflection in the model but that would involve changing the textures of the scanner.





0 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page