top of page
Writer's pictureChloe King

Afua Richardson

September 28, 2018


Afua is an African native American artist best known for her comic book illustrative style. She uses the illustrative style most comics are known for but adds in her own style of colour and does it digitally. what I like about her art is although most of her it is comic book style she adds elements of realism to it with the characters features and movements . I also like her use of bright colours in the backgrounds if her characters have a dark theme, it makes them stand out even more along with the bold outlines she uses in her comics. 


She puts thought into what she draws and uses silhouettes in the foreground to amplify her colourful backgrounds. One big thing I personally like that she draws is powerful women, she's not afraid to draw them with muscles or short hair and she draws any race.she is not afraid to draw such striking characters to capture your attention which is one of the reasons why I chose to write about her art.


The final thing I love about her art is that she doesn't stick to one main style, she branches out and tries different things. Her different artworks do contain the same element that shows its her who drew it but there's always something different and refreshing as well.


Her style will help to inspire me when I'm making my storyboards because like the image above it can be simply but beautiful. I already draw a lot of detailed and realistic anime so trying to mix in Afua's style will be great for developing my art.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page