top of page
Writer's pictureChloe King

Atonement Storyboard + Animatic

Updated: Jun 7, 2019

December 13, 2018


The task was to pick a script from three options and choose a scene from them, I chose the one called atonement. We had to draw out at least 16 panels from the script and it had to be an action scene. In the scene I chose they are angels and use magic and swords to battle so that is the main I picked the script as it was the most interesting. 

I first scrolled through the script to find an action scene to draw, after a lot of scrolling I found a scene I liked.


The parts highlighted in green is where I planned to make a new panel. After I had chosen the parts of the scene I then moved onto sketching out a rough plan of what I wanted the storyboard to look like.



After I had a basic idea of what I wanted I then took to Krita to start thinking about what the characters and environment would look like. Going back through the script I knew they were in a town or city but I had to find out what they looked like. Sebastian was a President of a company/ Union so I put him in a suit, the script said he was dark and had bright eyes as well. When he transforms I just gave him what I would imagine to be modern day armour in bright angelic colours. I did not draw his wings due to them being massive and taking up the entire page. For Elkai and Uriah the script said they had golden hair and angelic armour/ clothes.


The environment is a very quick sketch I did as I knew detail didn't matter until I drew it in the storyboard.


After I finished the character design and environment I got on Krita and drew the outline and coloured in my storyboard.



I have also made an animatic using After Effects, I used the storyboard directions to put in where there should be zooms. I also used royalty free music and sound effects when needed like the helicopter explosion. When originally drawing the last panel I did have the "To be continued" meme in mind but never added it so I thought it would be a comedic ending to the animatic.


Why did I do a storyboard instead of a playboard? Firstly, playboards are most commonly used for games and shows off the game play elements, the arrows in a playboard show the character movement and the outcomes. Whereas, a storyboard would have arrows to show the camera movement like a pan, zoom in and so on. A storyboard can sometimes have brief dialogue and the playboard has none. Additionally, a playboards camera angle is usually from the players perspective, that may be first or third person. On the other hand, a storyboards camera angle can be anywhere within the scene and move about away from any characters.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page