top of page
Writer's pictureChloe King

Exploratory Vehicle Animation

June 04, 2018



Here is the Hot air Balloon animation i did in Maya. I used a character rig and my exploratory vehicle as the assets. The video had to be 20 seconds long minimum and had to involve the character interacting with the vehicle. I was going to have him fly away in the balloon but due to its large size it was difficult. Instead I had him try to get the balloon working and failing.

He climbs in the balloon and pulls on the ropes to set the sails and get the fan/ engine on but the fan falls off and he falls out of the balloon trying to see what happened.

Overall I like how well the model moves and the ship but my only issues I would like to fix is the camera angle (try to get it to move up close) and the lighting on the render. I tried to stop the gleam in the centre of the ship but I could not even dim it a little bit so it stayed. I would also change how the fan falls, it looks very mechanical once it hits the pipe and I would change the models arms when he falls out of the ship. Up close his arms are spread in front of him but from far away he looks like he's diving.







This is the quick storyboard I did to outline what I wanted the character to do, the seconds were an estimate of how long I wanted the main task to be but that didn't go to plan when setting key frames.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page