top of page
Writer's pictureChloe King

Games Doc - Pre Production

May 24, 2018



Mind map for setting of game. Includes the genre and what type of game it would be. I was stuck between full Fantasy and Steampunk so I made ideas for both but was convinced to do the first one.



Once my idea was picked I had to plan a full story, in my first draft of the story I had a basic plan of a evil king but decided to scrap that.


Here shows my first idea of the overall game. I had decided there would be a tower as well but needed a reason for them to climb it.


t also shows another story idea that i also scrapped. My final idea came to me when i was watching Ice Age 2 and they all had to get on the "boat" to save themselves. So my final synopsis turned out like this "The Gods have threatened the life of every being in the Realm. You are one of the chosen heroes to complete the Tower of the Gods along with three others you must join together to fight the creatures of the tower and save the Realm!" 

The next planning was the weapons and armour. I made the weapons myself on Maya, for inspiration I Googled fantasy "object" and took different parts from pictures I found interesting. For example this is the hammer I took the majority of my inspiration from.


I also Google different textures to use on the weapons to bump map them to help bring them to life.





For the armour I have very little art skills so I found images of armour similar to the ones I had in mind. I did the same thing for the character design. I had originally wanted everything done by hand though but the quality would not have been as good and with time constraints. Although in the future I would like to design the characters exactly how I imagine them. 


Next was the location and art design planning. To make up for the lack of self making i wanted to build both of my examples. The tower was inspired by Greek structures with the arch and pillars. 




For the level design I originally looked up mountain range examples and drew part of a level example.




I still searched for a better example and found this video. 

I used this to help me build the level design, this time volcano based. Although its not textured or coloured I hope I can in the future to make it even more realistic.


In the future I hope to develop the game even further to bring it to life and show off my ideas. I also wish to expand on the NPC characters and give them more options and also give the Player more character options as well. 






1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page