top of page
Writer's pictureChloe King

Regis Loisel

October 01, 2018


Regis Loisel is a French Cartoonist. He has worked with Disney on Atlantis and Mulan. I like his artwork because he has a very delicate style and uses a range between pastel and dark colours. In some of his works it looks like he has used watercolours to paint which I like using as well. He switches between colour illustrative and pencil much like the bottom piece below. I also like his artwork because he draws fantasy characters and settings, this is my favourite genre so I have a soft spot for it and cant help but choose artworks based around that idea. 

In the top left piece he has used pencil to draw and colour in. One thing Loisel hasn't done with the background is blend it together where dark fades to  light. you can see a clear different in the techniques he has used to shade in the background. Another thing i like about his art style is that he is not afraid to draw different sized women, as you can see Tinkerbell isn't slimmed down and has some curves to her.   


The artwork on the right shows he has used dark coloured pastels to convey this scene in peter pan. I like this piece because of the dark take on peter pan which is known for being a happy film, he has used colours to darken it. its also nice to see artists using different mediums apart from paint and pencil. Here it gives a grungy texture which contributes to the feel of the piece. 


This can help me with my drawings because although he likes to draw fantasy he adds elements of realism and anatomy when i comes to human figures. I can also learn from his colouring techniques with how he makes it look like watercolour.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page